Thatcher Rock 8k 2012 - Saturday 12th May 2012
Conditions were favorable for the 4th staging of our Thatcher Rock race. Friendships with Exmouth Rowing Club, Mayflower Offshore Rowing Club, Teign Scullers and Paignton Amateur Rowing Club were put on hold for a couple of hours while our respective crews competed for the honours won by Exmouth the previous year.

After a delayed start laying the marker buoys the racing began with the Ladies being the first off the start in glorious sunshine. However, it was not all smooth rowing as the wind picked up around the turning point at Thatcher Rock. A spirited start from the doubles of Torquay (Tieneka Drew and Charlotte Smith) and Teign Scullers saw them lead the field for the first part of the race before the stronger quads took over the pace making. Mayflower's ladies held off the Exmouth crew to win in a course record time of 43 minutes and 44 seconds. The stronger Teign Scullers double took the pennant over Torquay in the race amongst the small boats.

On to the Mens race where a strong start from Torquay (Ian Wilson, Nick Cleasby, Steve McGarry, Chris Akers and cox Tieneka Drew) saw them lead the race from the start pulling away from Teign Scullers and Mayflower for the majority of the race. The tough middle section from Thatcher Rock to Livermead saw them unable to maintain their early race pace and they lost ground to a dogged Teign Scullers crew who stuck with them to challenge their lead with around 500m to go. Despite a strong push Torquay were unable to respond with Teign Scullers taking the trophy by 7 seconds. Mayflower won the doubles pennant managing to beat a spririted Torquay crew (Daniel Daphi and James Bennett) and a Paignton quad along the way.

The final race of the day saw a few crazy fools go out and do it all over again. Race organiser Richard Cudmore had decided to take pity on them before the race day and altered the course this year to 6 kilometres cutting out the Livermead turn. Although slightly shorter it was still a tough race with four quads and a double taking to the water. The field were close together up until the first marker where the Teign boat clashed with the Torquay quad before turning their attention to Paignton for another tussle. At the rock Exmouth started to edge away with Torquay (Tieneka Drew, Nick Cleasby, Chris Akers, Georgie Cleasby and cox Charlotte Smith) comfortably in second place followed by Teign Scullers and Paignton. Despite a close fight for third that was the way it stayed with Exmouth retaining one of their titles.

After rowing two of the three races WEARA President Nick Cleasby of Torquay was also on hand to present the trophies and pennants to the worthy winners in the Royal Torbay Yacht Club.

A big thank you to all those involved in the organising, to Mayflower ORC for helping man the safety boats and to all who competed in another great day of offshore rowing. See you all next year.

More photos are available here.

Full Results ...

 Ladies 8kClubTime 
1Quad (4x+)Mayflower ORC 'A'0:43:44Category Winner 4x+
2Quad (4x+)Exmouth RC0:44:28 
3Quad (4x+)Mayflower ORC 'B'0:45:54 
4Quad (4x+)Paignton ARC0:46:35 
5Double (2x)Teign Scullers0:47:50Category Winner 2x
6Double (2x)Torquay RC0:48:46 
7Quad (4x+)Teign Scullers0:50:25 
8Quad (4x+)Torquay RC0:54:45 
 Mens 8kClubTime 
1Quad (4x+)Teign Scullers0:38:55Category Winner 4x+
2Quad (4x+)Torquay RC0:39:02 
3Quad (4x+)Mayflower ORC 'A'0:40:59 
4Quad (4x+)Exmouth RC0:43:33 
5Double (2x)Mayflower ORC0:45:33Category Winner 2x
6Quad (4x+)Paignton ARC0:46:07 
7Double (2x)Torquay RC0:48:37 
 Mixed 6kClubTime 
1Quad (4x+)Exmouth RC0:28:44Category Winner 4x+
2Quad (4x+)Torquay RC / Dart-Totnes ARC0:29:54 
3Quad (4x+)Tein Scullers0:30:06 
4Quad (4x+)Paignton ARC0:30:15 
5Double (2x)Paignton ARC0:36:30Category Winner 2x
Our Sponsors